Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

One of these day's you're going to have to get a grownup car.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• One of these day's you're going to have to get a grownup car.

I know I'm a bit new to be starting a new thread, but I've been watching Buffy episodes here and there at the same time as looking into the play "A Doll's House" by Ibsen, and it occurred to me how much the same principles apply in both, so here's the question I pose:

In relation to Buffy (not so much Angel as I've only watched up to Season 3) how relevant is the theory "We are all children, pretending to be grownups and hoping we won't get found out."

In particular what triggered this thought was the line in Entropy, Anya to Xander:

No, the mature solution is to spend your whole life telling stupid, pointless jokes so no one will notice you're just a scared, insecure little boy!
    To what extent does this continue for each character? My thoughts:

Buffy:
    I'm beyond tired. I'm beyond scared. I'm standing on the mouth of Hell and it is going to swallow me whole.
    Okay, so this is pretty much like the "I'm only sixteen, I don't wanna die." of Season 1, but this is Season 7 now. Buffy is the Slayer, right, which means she has to save the world on a pretty much daily basis. So she can look after herself. But here we see how she reverts to that scared little girl. She even admits to putting on the motivational speeches, can't remember the quote but something about a parking warden? Is it all just an act?

Willow:
    I am Willow. I am Death. If you dare defy me, I will call down my fury, exact fresh vengeance, and make your worst fears come true! Okay?!?
    This is played as obviously putting it on - it's completely an act and we the audience can see that.

Okay so I'm a bit tired and looking up quotes is making my eyes hurt, I'd love to hear everyone's views on this!