Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 438

Thread: FAQ for all your HTML needs!

  1. #1
    Mighty Power Nikki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Westeros
    Posts
    2,683
    Thanks
    319
    Thanked 491 Times in 254 Posts

    Default FAQ for all your HTML needs!

    Moving this thread over

    1. What are the best programs for making a website?
    There are several good programs and everyone who uses one will tell you theirs is the best! They will all be fairly similar, but find one you find works best for what you want to use it for. These are the common ones;
    DreamWeaver
    Microsoft Frontpage – this often comes with Microsoft Office
    http://www.ultraedit.com/]UltraEdit[/url]

    2. How do I learn to code?
    Again there are many sites that have html tutorials on them, refer to the huge links thread for some, but also Web Reference is found to be very helpful and Lissa Explains is very clear with the basics. Learning HTML will never happen overnight, so don’t give up easily and do ask if you need directions.

    3. What is a stylesheet?
    A stylesheet or CSS (Cascading Style Sheet) is one small page of coding that you link from all your other pages so they get their basic information from it. E.g. font size and type, background and scroll bar colour. But it means that by changing that information in one file it will update all your site’s pages.
    First of all you need to create a file of your stylesheet. It could look something a bit like this,
    though obviously with different colours/values in order to suit your site:
    HTML Code:
    A{
    color:#000000;
    text-decoration:none;
    font-weight:none
    }
    A:visited{
    color:#000000;
    text-decoration:none;
    font-weight:none
    }
    A:active{
    color:#000000;
    text-decoration:none;
    }
    A:hover{
    color:#000000;
    text-decoration:line-through;
    cursor:help;
    }
    body { 
    scrollbar-face-color: #000000; 
    scrollbar-highlight-color: #000000; 
    scrollbar-shadow-color: #000000; 
    scrollbar-3dlight-color: #000000; 
    scrollbar-arrow-color: #000000; 
    scrollbar-track-color: #000000; 
    scrollbar-darkshadow-color: #000000; 
    background-color: #000000; 
    }
    
    BODY,TR,TD,P { 
    font-family: tahoma;
    font-size: 12pt;
    color: #000000;
    }
    input,textarea { 
    color: #000000; 
    font-size: 12pt; 
    letter-spacing: 2pt; 
    font-family: verdana; 
    background: none; 
    border:10pt solid #000000;
    }
    This file should be saved as something like 'stylesheet.css' or another similar variation, as long as it ends with .css
    The next step is to place a simple code in the head of each of your webpages.
    HTML Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    <LINK REL=stylesheet HREF="mystyles.css" TYPE="text/css">
    </head>
    4. How do I get a certain page to be the first one seen when people to go my site?
    Simply name the first page you want to load as index.htm and that will be the page to open first when people visit your site.

    5. What is hosting?
    Hosting (also known as Web site hosting, Web hosting, and Webhosting) is the business of housing, providing a server, and maintaining files for one or more Web sites.
    Your web site or web page(s) are hosted, or stored, on a computer (an http server) that is permanently connected to the Internet so that it can be seen by anyone connected to the Internet at any time
    Many sites offer hosting (too many to list) but it’s best to look on a host reviewer site for the best recommended and priced.

    6. Why do my image links on the coding show up with %20 throughout?
    %20 indicates a space between words/letters which doesn’t work online. So it’s best to save everything with no spaces. E.g. ‘buffyandspike.jpg’ instead of ‘buffy and spike.jpg’ which would look like ‘buffy%20and%20spike.jpg’.

    7. Where can I get…?
    Fast Online Users is a good counter for telling how many visitors you have currently on your site and StatCounter is good for telling you the total number who have visited you. But there are many more out there if you search google for them. Tagboard will give you.. well a tagboard! Lastly a good scripts centre is Dynamic Drive.

    8. How do I put my pages/images on the internet?
    By using an FTP program. Again there are many, Smart FTP, BulletProof FTP, you get the idea! You will need from your host the user details to log in, but once in you will be able to drop and drag items from your documents onto the server.

    9. How do I get pages/images to open in a new window?
    <a href=’spuffywallpaper.htm' target='_blank'>Spike and Buffy</a>

    10. How do I put my site name in the code?
    In the head part of the coding <title>site name</title>

    Feel free to ask any other html/website questions that aren’t answered above in this thread

  2. #2
    Graveyard Patrol amy1234's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    the world of nodd.....
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 30 Times in 11 Posts

    Default

    On my site when i link pictures to other pages a blue line always appears to show that its a link i was wondering how you get rid of that ??

  3. #3
    Drunkface McCord little albatross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    haters to the left
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    532
    Thanked 616 Times in 137 Posts

    Default

    You can use CSS. Nikki has a little tutorial for that at her site. (here). And in her post above

    Some people I know use
    Code:
    a:img{border:0px solid;}
    but I use
    Code:
    a:img{border:none;}
    Both of them work for me, though
    Last edited by little albatross; 11-07-07 at 06:12 PM.
    would you do anything for me

    buy a new diamond ring for me

  4. #4
    fandom whore Jenni Lou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    AWESOMEville
    Posts
    5,811
    Thanks
    938
    Thanked 1,146 Times in 340 Posts

    Default

    Alternatively, you can just add "border=0" inside you <img> tags.

    follow daydreaming on twitter / livejournal / tumblr / facebook for instant site updates!

  5. #5
    Scooby Gang Rosely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    713
    Thanks
    702
    Thanked 472 Times in 364 Posts

    Default

    a img{border:0;} in the css will do actually. Code can be oh so simple
    Just think that 0 cows is just as much as 0 cars or 0 pixels

  6. #6
    Drunkface McCord little albatross's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    haters to the left
    Posts
    556
    Thanks
    532
    Thanked 616 Times in 137 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rosely View Post
    a img{border:0;} in the css will do actually. Code can be oh so simple
    Just think that 0 cows is just as much as 0 cars or 0 pixels
    Good point! I usually do say px or whatever unit after 0, just because sometimes I change it and forget to add any unit.
    would you do anything for me

    buy a new diamond ring for me

  7. #7
    Graveyard Patrol amy1234's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    the world of nodd.....
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 30 Times in 11 Posts

    Default

    Thanks alot ill try that ))
    Last edited by amy1234; 17-07-07 at 07:22 PM.

  8. #8
    Graveyard Patrol amy1234's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    the world of nodd.....
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 30 Times in 11 Posts

    Default

    how do you do that below ??,(highlight the top line) ive tried loads and i cant do it, ive been on loads of html sites and it doesnt say how to do it so i thought id ask buffy forums, so pleas can you help me
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    Scooby Gang Rosely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    713
    Thanks
    702
    Thanked 472 Times in 364 Posts

    Default

    Well.. there's several options.
    What you could do is to give the heading a style that includes a background color.
    So in your CSS file you'd include for example:
    Code:
    h3 {
     color: #ffffff;
     background-color: #the color number;
     text-size: 1.2em; (or how big you want it)
     text-transform: uppercase;
     width: 500px; (for example, don't know how wide you want it)
     padding: 2px 0 2px 0;
     line-height: 1.2em; (optional, the padding probably already does enough)
    }
    and then in the html:
    HTML Code:
    <h3>here goes the text</h3>
    another option is to put the heading in a span or div with a classname
    say 'purple'


    Code:
    .purple {
     color: #ffffff;
     background-color: #the color number;
     width: 500px;
     height: 20px;
    }
    
    and for the heading style:
    h3 {
     color: #ffffff;
     text-size: 1.2 em;
     text-transform: uppercase;
    }
    and then in your html:
    HTML Code:
    <div class="purple"><h3>here goes the text</h3></div>
    hope that helps!

  10. #10
    Scary Detective Dana's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Detective Agency
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 179 Times in 39 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amy1234 View Post
    how do you do that below ??,(highlight the top line) ive tried loads and i cant do it, ive been on loads of html sites and it doesnt say how to do it so i thought id ask buffy forums, so pleas can you help me
    Hay, that's my site *grin*

    Rosely, I actually never involved H3 at all, instead I defined the whole thing under the div class..

    I guess it's up to the coder in question how they do it. You can either do it the way Rosely suggested or you can do the defining of fonts, colors, background colors, etc in the div class. It's up to you.
    Last edited by Dana; 17-07-07 at 07:58 PM.
    PRETTY AS A PICTURE HAS RETURNED

    With the return of PAAP comes the integration of Screencap Paradise
    Keep a look out for Chosen Art, Roadhouse and the others

  11. #11
    Graveyard Patrol amy1234's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    the world of nodd.....
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 30 Times in 11 Posts

    Default

    Thanks very much i will give it a try, yeah dana you have a really nice site i was looking on it earlier and wondered how you did so i gave it a try and got no where lol thanks alot

  12. #12
    Scooby Gang Rosely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    713
    Thanks
    702
    Thanked 472 Times in 364 Posts

    Default

    The advantage for using a 'h3' or any other heading is that your site will be better readable for search engines, and also for screen-readers.
    Although the last catagory won't visit your site

    Usually you start with the most important headings in the h1 tag, this could involve the logo with sitename, so that the search engines know that information is the most important for a site.

    Then the second most important headings will go into h2 and then h3 and etc. etc. This is all site optimalisation and of course you can defign it all simply by putting that info into the class, but I wouldn't cause of this stuff being my job nowadays and clients all want search engine optimalisation and blah blah blah... lol

    I took the h3 just as an example. maybe on this site it should be a h2, or a h4... that depends on the structure of the site.
    But to use headings for such things, is handy. (cause we all want search engines to find our sites lol, also it's easy for the readability of your html)

  13. #13
    Scary Detective Dana's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Detective Agency
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 179 Times in 39 Posts

    Default

    Rosely: Screw the searchengines

    I've actually never been into the whole usage of h1 2 3 4 etc etc.. never felt the need and now I just adore div layers so I tend to just use them in these cases. Feels like less coding.. or I'm just kidding myself, whichever!

    Amy: Thank you, and good luck, send me a tag when you're done, would love to see how it worked out for you
    PRETTY AS A PICTURE HAS RETURNED

    With the return of PAAP comes the integration of Screencap Paradise
    Keep a look out for Chosen Art, Roadhouse and the others

  14. #14
    Scooby Gang Rosely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    713
    Thanks
    702
    Thanked 472 Times in 364 Posts

    Default

    LOL

    yeah you are kidding yourself
    They're very handy for stuff like this. because then you don't have to remember the classnames you made up for all those styles.
    They go from h1 till h6, but you can also assign a certain heading to a certain page or part of the page (that you've build up in you div layers)

    It's just easier cause then you will only have to type:
    <h2>text</h2>
    instead of:
    <div class="name">text</div>

    give it a try, you might like it

  15. #15
    SD-6 omri's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    on my uncomfortable
    Posts
    278
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rosely View Post
    LOL

    yeah you are kidding yourself
    They're very handy for stuff like this. because then you don't have to remember the classnames you made up for all those styles.
    They go from h1 till h6, but you can also assign a certain heading to a certain page or part of the page (that you've build up in you div layers)

    It's just easier cause then you will only have to type:
    <h2>text</h2>
    instead of:
    <div class="name">text</div>

    give it a try, you might like it
    It is easier, you are right. But i use this code my self and you'll have to use the Margin tag to close up the gaps between the highlighted text and the links below.

  16. #16
    Scooby Gang Rosely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    713
    Thanks
    702
    Thanked 472 Times in 364 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by omri View Post
    It is easier, you are right. But i use this code my self and you'll have to use the Margin tag to close up the gaps between the highlighted text and the links below.
    ha, that's true!
    I usually put in my stylesheet on top:

    *{
    margin: 0;
    padding: 0;
    }

    that sets everything to 0, also the <ul> and <ol> but then you can defign them all yourself again when you're styling them.
    (and that's why I forgot that part, but yeah, you got to set the margin as well, to 0, or whatever you like)

  17. #17
    SD-6 omri's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    on my uncomfortable
    Posts
    278
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    OMG!~ thank you Rosely! I didn't know that! Very helpful!

  18. #18
    Graveyard Patrol amy1234's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    the world of nodd.....
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 30 Times in 11 Posts

    Default

    Ok so im back with another question again, lol
    In css how do you make so your navigation is all in with the css so you can just paste that link, and it will all be there, ive looked around but dont know how to do it, on each of my pages i keep having to paste all my navigation is there a way to put in css??, im confused like usual

  19. #19
    fandom whore Jenni Lou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    AWESOMEville
    Posts
    5,811
    Thanks
    938
    Thanked 1,146 Times in 340 Posts

    Default

    If you are asking what I think you are, then no. You can put your navigation in one file (along with other things) instead of on very page if you are using PHP. But I never heard of navigation links being inserted into a css. CSS just sets your style attributes.

    follow daydreaming on twitter / livejournal / tumblr / facebook for instant site updates!

  20. #20
    Graveyard Patrol amy1234's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    the world of nodd.....
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 30 Times in 11 Posts

    Default

    I thought so, thanks.

    Ok might as well edit this in, how do you change the colour of a border of an image, ive played with all the settings and cannot seem to change it from the colour purple or blue and it is really annoying me !!!LOL
    Last edited by amy1234; 24-07-07 at 07:18 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •